WASHINGTON – To support the next generation of agricultural professionals, the National Farmers Union Foundation (NFUF) proudly announces the 2024 recipients of its annual scholarship awards. 

Each year, NFUF awards scholarships to students in various fields of study who are attending accredited two- or four-year colleges, universities or technical schools. These students have demonstrated academic excellence and a strong commitment to their communities. 

“To secure a bright future for our organization, our communities and American agriculture, we must ensure that young people have the resources they need to become tomorrow’s leaders,” said NFU President Rob Larew. “Our commitment to community and support for family farmers and ranchers drives us to support these bright minds as they pursue their education. NFU is proud to invest in the future by helping these young individuals achieve their educational goals.”

Kaleigh Sullivan from Missouri has been awarded the Hubert K. & JoAnn Seymour Scholarship, a $2,000 award given in honor of Hubert and JoAnn Seymour’s lifelong dedication to the Farmers Union and family farming. Hubert K. Seymour was a prominent leader in the Farmers Union organization, serving at both state and national levels. He held the positions of secretary-treasurer for eight years and vice president for twelve years in the Illinois Farmers Union before stepping down in 1990. Together with his wife JoAnn, he farmed full-time until his passing in 1994. 

Additionally, three Farmers Union members have been awarded the $1,500 Stanley Moore Scholarship. This scholarship commemorates Stanley Moore, a long-time Farmers Union member and visionary leader who served as NFU Vice President and chairman of the NFU Insurance Companies board. The recipients of this scholarship are Rain Vasey of Delaware, Cheyanne Lindgren of North Dakota and Tammi Fladager of Montana. 

NFU also presented two $1,500 scholarships to members of the Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources and Related Sciences (MANRRS) organization. This scholarship initiative is part of a formal commitment between NFU and MANRRS to provide educational and leadership opportunities for young people of all racial and ethnic identities, develop federal policy priorities and extend their reach within agricultural communities. The recipients of this award are Paul Crocker of California and Katelyn Scannell of Wisconsin. 

Applications for the 2025 scholarship awards will open in December 2024. For more information about the scholarships, visit the NFU website at NFU.org/education/scholarships. 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.